Author Interviews

4 Questions with Award Winning Author Kathleen Morgan

(This interview is part of my 4 Questions Project, where I get the chance to chat with authors and tell stories of people, life, and adventure. Be sure to check out previous interviews here!)

Kathleen Morgan has a knack for making you fall in love with Scotland! After reading Child of the Mist, all I wanted to do was watch Braveheart and then Brave. And pretend I have a Scottish accent. I love tales of beautiful countryside, adventure and love!

Kathleen began her career writing contemporary romances and soon moved to historical and futuristic romances. She sold her first book, a futuristic romance, in April 1990 while stationed in Korea as an Army nurse. Additional romances soon followed, until she had sold a fifteen novels in the general market, establishing a loyal readership along the way.

Since that time, she has received numerous awards for her work, including a Romantic Times Reviewer’s Choice award and Career Achievement award, and The Literary Times award for Literary Excellence in the Field of Romantic Fiction. She was also a Romance Writers of America RITA finalist.

Kathleen now focuses her writing talents in the area of inspirational fiction, offering readers characters who struggle to redefine their growing faith in everyday life.

Now on to the interview! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

1. What is something about your life right now that you would never imagined 5 years ago?
Life is always full of surprises and unexpected blessings. I guess one thing that I never expected 5 years ago was the impact the electronic book market would ultimately have on my book sales. Books that I’d written years ago, books that had all but gone out of print, have found a new life and a lot more readers in e-book format. I am so pleased and thrilled that my books have found additional readers, and whatever spiritual insights they may have had are now available to so many others.

2. What is one thing that you would go back and do differently if you could?
Oh my, I could write a book about all the things I wish I could change in my past life! Things I’ve done that I regret doing, things I’ve left undone, especially when it comes to other people. But it’s been said that everything in one’s life–good and bad–can be used for good in God’s hands. So, I try to learn from my mistakes, ask and accept forgiveness, and use everything to help me become a better person.

3. What is one of the happiest moments of your life?
I have been blessed in so many ways. Besides my ever evolving relationship with God, though, I’d say my happiest moments have been with my family. Seeing our son graduate from college, after all his struggles, was a very happy moment. But perhaps the happiest one–at least so far–was watching him get married. Such a special time, both joyous and bittersweet, as I saw myself go from being the most important woman in his life to the second most important one, and knew that it was right and good.

4. What is one thing you want the next generation to know?
Persevere in your faith and don’t forget God in the good times. Be grateful for what you have, for the beautiful world around you, and for the God Who gave His life for you. Okay, that’s really two things, but you should’ve seen my list before I cut it down to just two. 🙂

Leave a Reply

