Author Interviews

4 Questions With New York Times Bestseller Jonathan Eig

Before a trip to Atlanta several years back, my mom gave me Opening Day: The Story of Jackie Robinson’s First Season by Jonathan Eig for plane reading material. It was a fantastic read that truly brought to life Robinson’s first season. It’s one of my favorite biographies to date.

He’s also documented the life of Lou Gehrig in Luckiest Man: The Life and Death of Lou Gehrig. And his most recent book? Get Capone. Y’all…did I ever mention I have a strange obsession with the mafia? So you know that’s a good book with a title like that. It’s all about Al Capone and what it took to capture him. That one is definitely on my to read list because who doesn’t love a good book about the mafia??

Jonathan Eig is the best-selling author of “Luckiest Man: The Life and Death of Lou Gehrig” and “Opening Day: The Story of Jackie Robinson’s First Season.” His most recent book is “Get Capone,” which the New York Times called a “gore-spattered thriller.” Eig is a former senior writer for The Wall Street Journal. He lives in Chicago with his wife and children. For more information, go to http://www.getcapone.com or http://www.jonathaneig.com.

So excited to have Jonathan on the blog with 4 Questions!

1. What is something about your life right now that you would never imagined 5 years ago?
After writing books on baseball and crime, I’m currently at work telling the story of the team of rebels who invented the birth control pill. If you had told me that five years ago, I would have thought you were nuts. But it’s a great story and I’m having a blast. I think it’s going to be my best book.

2. What is one thing that you would go back and do differently if you could?
Life’s too short to think about what I would have done differently. But I suppose, if you were to give me this magical power to go back and do things differently, I might try to read more, write better, and waste less time on TV and the Web. And I would not have eaten that Frito Pie.

3. What is one of the happiest moments of your life?
Happiest moments are the usual ones: marriage and children. I’ve been incredibly blessed on the home front. On the professional side: finishing my first book and seeing it in stores.

4. What is one thing you want the next generation to know?
If they know what’s good for them, members of the next generation will heed this advice: be nice to my kids.

Thank you so much for stopping by Jonathan!

Leave a Reply

