Ponderings

Let’s Promise to Finish

This post from an older blog I no longer write popped up on my Timehop a few days ago and it’s just what I needed to hear.

A few years ago I laughed at the thought of running a 10K, let alone a half. I also swore on all creation I would never run a full marathon. Then things changed a couple of years ago. First, my girlfriends somehow convinced me to join in the Austin half marathon. I almost died. I actually did get injured, but after some therapy I was determined to try again. I was half injured again for the next one, but I still went for it. You think I’d get the hint, but there’s something about running that’s too alluring.

Then came a full marathon. Maybe it was a twilight zone kind of day, but when the aforementioned girlfriends said “let’s do a full marathon!” I didn’t hesitate. But training for a full marathon is totally different. Suddenly 13 miles seemed like nothing when long runs for training were 18+ miles.

But let me be the first to say, I am by no means hard core. Let’s really emphasize that. This is coming from someone who thinks a 12 minute mile pace is fast. And I probably hold the record for the slowest finishes in all of my races. The sprint triathlon I did a few years back? Last place for my age group. Do I kid? Nope, dead last.

I share this because I didn’t start at 18 miles. I literally started with 1. I never won, nor will I ever come close. But I’ll always finish.

It’s easy to portray (especially with the world wide web and social media) that things are going awesome (in everyday life or even while pursuing a dream and goal), but I don’t think that’s fair to anyone, especially yourself. When it’s something worth it, the path isn’t going to be easy. And if you’re honest about the struggles, then not only will the end product be much more sweet, but I believe many more people will be inspired by your journey.

I’ll be honest, my training sometimes sucks. And by sometimes I mean most runs. After a long run, I’ll check my time and think of how horrible it was. Just this past weekend, I averaged near 14 minute miles. For non-runners, that means slow and lots of walking. But I kept going. Sometimes the lesson is in the journey too.

So whatever it is you are working on or if you are just trying to survive, here’s to starting with that one mile (even if it takes you 20 minutes to complete)!

“Let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us…” Hebrews 12:1-2

What are some ways you want to try and start with one step? One block? One mile?

Leave a Reply

